Skip to content

My Perception of the Family Medicine Posting

May 7, 2010

In the name of Allah (God), the Most Compassionate and the Most Merciful,


All praises belong to Allah alone, the Lord of all the universes and blessings and peace of Allah be upon His messenger Muhammad and on all of his descendents and followers.

“I seek Allah’s refuge from the knowledge which is of no benefit”

As expected, I successfully to stay ‘alive’ until Week 7 of Family Medicine. Thanks to all my group mates and my beloved lecturers who make my life colorful for the past seven weeks.

I could say that Family Medicine has bad impression for me in my first week. It stressed me out when I got consultation from Dr Azizah for first time in life (since secondary till university life) due to absenteeism and late. Honestly I’m not a kind of guy who loves to make up things or putting up any reasons for my own mistakes. I preferred to stay quiet, get my revenge by proving that I’m more than what they can see or expect. Thanks to Allah SWT (and Dr Azizah), I strived and tried to make a different in this posting.

This posting is not hectic and busy like what I expect but it’s tedious. I hate to fill in log books. I hate to ask for signatures and I hate to do things which are not sincerely done by me. It’s like a rebellious part of me but I try to be honest with myself. I want to pass my MBBS with my own values and excel as a great doctor. Therefore, I train myself not to work and study because of log books, not because of signatures and for sure, not for marks.

Furthermore, I also must pretend to be smart! I was asked by Dr Hairel to correct my tie and iron my lab coat. I was like…What?? But I went back and for the rest of the days, I would make sure my lab coat was ironed at least twice per week and of course, always tried as much as I can to look smart. For me, as long as the order is not against Al-Quran & Sunnah, I will not fight for it and learn to obey. Insya Allah, for patience, you will get thousand of benefits.

Nevertheless, on the other side, the system of Family Posting was thoroughly helpful in training us as future doctors. I enjoyed the OPD time the most (minus MCHC, I don’t like it) and service duty in KK Bangi & KK Dengkil. My friends and I learned a lot. Thanks to all my great lecturers, Dr Hazian, Dr Norlehan, Dr Azizah, Dr Lakshmi, Dr Hairel and Dr Siti, I end up enjoying your teachings, except certain debriefing consuming part. It’s great to have debriefing but only for 2 minutes per person. It’s helpful for us to recap and exchange information but if it exhausted us for the next lectures, that’s absurd.

In this posting, I really applied the time management I leant from books and previous courses I had attended. For me, besides studying, I want to accomplish my enthusiasm working as Student Council in Bureau of Project. Being a Student Council is nothing big as far as I’m concern but holding Bureau of Project, that’s my passion and interest. For the past 4 years involving in a lot of students’ program and activities, courses, seminars and event management, I have got the best chance to set up a standard and educate CUCMS community on it. Therefore, I need to arrange my life as best as I can for study time and also for students’ activities. And I really enjoyed my past several weeks because I could accomplish a lot of things. My reflection on that is ‘better be busy for something than busy for nothing’. =)

In this posting, I have done effective revisions whether by myself, with my friends or during clinical teaching. Of course I’m not just aiming to pass the Professional Exam 2 & 3 but it’s really helpful as to be a doctor! I was in love with Murtagh Textbook and I also love the way family medicine taught us. We manage patient holistically, from HOPI, past medical history & etc and also psychosocially. We also learn how to educate patients through advice on therapeutic and non-therapeutic and learn how ro communicate effectively with patients which is for me, make up the great different. Simply to say, I learn so much for my life and future.

Last but not least, GP posting arrangement week is nicely planned. Time schedule is tight but it let the students learn about punctuality and time management. Regarding KKs, improvement needs to be done especially the accommodation part such as aircond and space for more conducive learning place.

Lastly, Family Medicine posting is the best posting I’ve ever gone through, the most effective in term of learning education and other aspects of medicine. Like what I said to Dr Hazian previously, I’m not only looking forward towards my future journey as a doctor in the future or as a scholar but also as an activist in the society. How meaningful my life would be in the future is depends on how much I can contribute to Islam, my society and the world. Insya Allah. I hold onto my words and I’ll realize it one day.

My gratitude towards all related.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

