Skip to content

‘He is sufficient for me and He is the best Disposer of affairs’

January 26, 2010

By: Dr^Waqipedia

I happened to stumble to a blog and find this word; “He is sufficient for me and He is the best Disposer of affairs“. He refers to Allah SWT. Actually, I amazed with the beauty of the words and immediately asked the owner of the blog, where she had the words. She said that she copied it from somewhere else and forgot the source.

However, just a week ago, I got a PDF book from a friend which written by Imam Abu Hamid Al-Ghazali; My Dear Beloved Son & Daughters (In Arabic version, it’s Ayyuhal Walad) and I took a browse on it. One article attracts me so much. It is about two ‘sufi’, Hatim Al-Asan and Shaqiq Al-Balkhi. Hatim has accompanied Shaqiq for 30 years and once upon a time, Shaqiq asked Hatim what he has gained in the course of those years. Hatim replied that he got eight benefits when he was with him and one of it is like below;

“I saw everyone relied on a created thing, some on currency, some on wealth and property, some on trade and craft and some on creatures like themselves. I meditated on the saying of Allah: “And whosoever places his reliance on Allah sufficient is Allah for him. Allah will surely accomplish His purpose. Verily for all things has Allah appointed a due proportion? I therefore placed full trust in Allah (We should all try to do the same). He is sufficient for me and He is the best Disposer of affairs.”

The advice is simple. Although how big your effort or level, leave everything to Allah SWT. Maybe sometimes you expect that you have had prepared much, but in the end, you still fail or do it in wrong way. Its Allah’s doing and He will provide and serve you the best (although in hard way). Also, in Quran, it’s also mentioned that the best thing that you think for you, maybe it actually is not. However, the bad thing part; perhaps it’s the best one for you.

Before I came back from holiday, my family did an ‘usrah’ and we sat together. It’s a routine that my father trained us to do. Besides having meals together, he trained us to take the chance of time between Maghrib and Isya’ to sit together and gave us a little bit ‘tazkirah’ or reflection. For me, it’s a continuous learning and that’s the place where I can hear my parent’s or my sibling’s insight. Therefore, my father asked me to give ‘sedikit penyampaian’ which could be beneficial for my little siblings and also for us all. I took that story above and reflect it in my own experiences; from being a secondary school to a half-degree student.

The best part is when my father gave his comment on it, after I finished do the talking. He told us two stories regarding two situations which have happened for him that need us to reflect. Previously, when his first son (that’s me), finished his PMR in MATRI, where I was offered with Skim Pelajar Cemerlang (SPC) from MARA. Believing that if I took this opportunity, my pathway of becoming a doctor will be easy and bear no difficulties, my father accepted it. Therefore, I was enrolled to MRSM Bitara Pengkalan Chepa for 2 years and ended up in Kolej Teknologi Timur for A-Level Cambridge. At the moment, he thought my path was secure and would eventually go to medical school although whatever happens. He believed that MARA would take care of it all and he trusted it.

However, it was a mistake. I finished my A-Level Cambridge with flying colours but no placement for good university. Why? Because all the best places had been occupied and I ended up ‘must’ go to Brawijaya University, Malang, Indonesia. How am I supposed to accept it after 2 years studying and struggling with English as the first language? Therefore, I fought for it and fortunately, I met CUCMS. The story was how much my father had to work hard just to make sure I get my place to a good medical university. Before he met CUCMS and got in touch with Prof Hatta Shaharom, he had to meet certain peoples asking for help (my father is not kind of person who loves to freely asking for helps except it’s really important). Sometimes, he just woke up early in the morning to check his account bank, saving in Tabung Haji & etc and he also is prepared to mortgage his estate for the sake of paying me studying medicine at a proper place.

However, for my brother who is now studying in Yarmouk University, Jordan in Islamic banking studies, the situation was far worse where my father has less money to afford him studying but the way he handle it was different. It’s not the physical way which is different but the spiritual way. He put full trust in Allah SWT’s help and did his efforts asking for sponsorship from MARA and JPA. I also helped in the process and all of our family prayed for it. Alhamdulillah, everything goes smoothly and now, he is offered with JPA sponsorship.

The moral here is not just how much my parent loves us; their sons and daughters but it is also how much we have to put trust in Allah’s doing. That’s the same way that I feel when I indulge myself handling a lot of projects and programs. Sometimes, it seems like the program was really great and would get a lot of big sponsors but in the end, it just messed up. However, there were also times when I thought the projects would be a failure, at last it were successful. Simply to say, it’s all Allah’s doing in order to measure our honesty and how much we put our trust on Him. Nevertheless, I learned and reflected a lot in doing all those projects previously and as time goes by, I understand how much the dependence on Allah SWT is needed.

In summary, put 20% full effort working for it and 80% hope and ‘do’a’ towards Him. And yes, feel sufficient of Him for you, because He is the best Disposer of affairs. Insya Allah, he will give the best for you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 2.45 pm03

    “He is sufficient for me and He is the best Disposer of affairs“

    klo x silap, ini dari surah ali-imran ayat 173..

Leave a Reply

